The flag of the United States

The flag of the United States of America, known in the country as the Stars and Stripes, Old Glory and the Star-Spangled Banner, is composed of thirteen horizontal stripes of the same size, seven red and six alternated white, and a blue rectangle in the upper left, with fifty white five-pointed stars.

The origin of the flag of the United States

The bars represent the original Thirteen Colonies that became independent from the United Kingdom and the stars represent the fifty states that make up the Union.

In addition to representing a country or a region, a flag also collects part of the history of a certain nation. Although the United States does not have as much history as other countries, since it barely has 240 years of history, it is one of the most changed years in its history. Until the war of independence, the United States still did not have any official flag. After the victory of the colonies over the British Empire, there was no banner representing the American country.

The need for a symbol to unite the colonies in 1777 caused the first American flag to be passed in Congress.

In 1975 to the 13 stars of the initial flag of the United States, 2 more were added until having 15, by the later union of Vermont and Kentucky. Since its origin, the country’s flag has been modified more than 26 times, adding more stars until reaching 50 in 1960.

The 50 states that make up the United States represented by each star are: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine , Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, Eastern Virginia, Washington and Wyoming.

The flag can be called as the Stars and Stripes, Old Glory and the Star-Spangled Banner.

Symbology of the United States flag

  • White – Represents the purity and innocence of the American people.
  • Red: it is the color that reflects the courage and value that the country has.
  • Blue: this color is the symbol of justice and perseverance

Code of respect for the flag

  • The flag should never be thrown on anything or anyone.
  • It should always be hoisted upright since if it is done the other way around it is only to indicate that there are problems.
  • It should never be used on a table as a tablecloth or as curtains. It is also not used to decorate since, for this, the striped banners already exist.
  • They should not be used for advertising or placed on household items such as cushions, napkins, etc.
  • It cannot be altered with different messages or designs that tarnish its essential symbolism.
  • It should always be placed on the right and, in the case of being next to other flags, the US flag should be in the center and raised above the others.
  • When they are placed at half mast it is because there is an official mourning decreed by the government.


Somos una empresa que tramita tu Visa ESTA por ti de la forma más rápida posible.

Confía en una empresa experta en tramitar solicitudes ESTA.